What Happens When You Delete a File From Your Computer?

Started by trentonhogan, Oct 26, 2026, 05:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

trentonhogan

Once you delete a file from your PC, it might be moved into the Recycle Bin on Windows and Trash on Mac computers. After you completely delete the file or empty the folder, the file becomes invisible but still exists in the storage media unless overwritten by another data. The procedure varies depending on the operating system and storage media used. If you accidentally deleted a vital file, then you should stop creating new files in the same disk and try to restore the file using backup or use Notchox data recovery software.